Bring Me The Mistaken

With the imminent release of the highly anticipated new BMTH album That’s The Spirit, there has been a lot of talk about the band going for a “mainstream” sound to “gain more fans”, which has disappointed me greatly. If I’m honest, the Sheffield mob seem more spirited than that, and I’m sure they must have an ulterior motive, which got me thinking…

When I first listened to Bring Me, Of Mice & Men, Parkway Drive and all the others I was about twelve, I had been listening to Three Days Grace and Green Day, and I wasn’t ready to make the jump and frankly, the whole screaming thing seemed pretty terrifying. I must have left trying them again for about six months before trying them again and getting more used to them, starting with the slightly less aggressive A Day To Remember and Pierce The Veil alternatives as I developed my impressionable music taste to the slightly more post-hardcore side of rock.

As I look back now, I wonder why on Earth I didn’t start to love all these bands before, as I sat with my headphones in, terrified at the guttural bellowing of Worsnop and Tuck, and the answer hit me tonight: I had no immediate options to bridge the gap between the melody and the scream. All I knew was a melody, I had been a choir boy for a few years and, despite being a fan of classic rock, I was dazed and shocked by the crazy men that screamed about sex, drugs and murder when I was at a point when my iPod contained about 4 swear words in total, and I hadn’t got the respect for any of the singers (yet) to listen to anything beside their screams.

It was once I had made this realisation that it occurred to me that this is what BMTH could be doing. For myself and so many others wanting more than the generic pop rubbish coming out these days but being slightly put off by finding something too scary too quickly, it’s very difficult to know where to start, and it appears the business-conscious Bring Me boys have spotted this as a way to create a niche in the otherwise packed modern musical industry, shipping fans of pop punk and soft rock through to the more hardcore nature of their earlier stuff, which then leads on to more hardcore bands, often ending up in the deathcore with Bury Tomorrow and Thy Art Is Murder (though I’m not quite that far gone). I mean, it’s all well and good saying “ooh I love Bring Me and their new music”, I enjoy it too, but I have to say that Suicide Season is their best overall album to date, and the newer music made is growing more and more into the gap they so cleverly found in the market that has served to create a subculture of “goths” and “emos” (otherwise known as hardcore fans) over the last 10 years.

So thank you, Mr. Sykes, for finding a genius way of expanding the whole industry by changing the music of your lot that little bit, you’ve just saved Rock N Roll in 11 (probably) fantastic songs, and let’s all sing along a little goddamn louder to your Happy Song because it’s all okay (LET’S GO).

Bring_Me_The_Horizon_umbrella

Leave a Reply

