The FVK Interview

So as a few of you may know, I applied to be one of the few fans to participate in the In The Firing Line feature of the October 2015 edition of Rock Sound magazine, and I was lucky enough to be chosen, and I thought I’d just make a little diary-type post about it to let you know how it went! If you don’t know who the band are, check them out here and here!

I boarded the train at my local station, my copy of Unbreakable Hearts and a sharpie pen with my excitement levels high as ever, ready to make the dull journey to Euston. As I got onto the platform, I figured I was about 2 hours earlier than I could have been so I decided to sit around in the station and play “spot the emo”, and I managed to spot 17 definites and 3 probables in half an hour…

I had to figure out my way to Archway station from there, which seemed more difficult than it was, because I arrived about an hour early, so I searched online for the pub and walked in that direction. I had told Victoria that I’d meet her beforehand, so I thought wasting time with a coffee in Costa over the road from her station was a good plan, and some evil-looking builder bloke came in and gave me a death stare, then Victoria walked in and straight past me before the realisation that it was no coincidence there was a random emo kid sitting in the same place I had said I’d meet her (good job, dude…). While we were just sitting and making a little bit of awkward conversation, the evil builder decided it would be fun to throw a coffee all over the floor so the poor women behind the counter had to some and sort it out, before he got another one and left…

Pretty soon, we decided we were bored of the dull shop and its boring customers, so we set off round the corner to the pub, and we found it surprisingly quickly, as it was the same place we expected it to be, and the others were all standing there and (not to be judgemental, of course) but they all looked like the type of people we were looking for. We all stood around awkwardly until Ben Gibson (photographer extroadinaire) and Gav Lloyd (one of the main writers and editors of the magazine) arrived, spoke to us briefly and we headed inside.

We must have been sitting there for about fifteen minutes before the band turned up. Well, I say “the band”, I mean four fifths of the band, because as per usual, Laurence had misread his texts. Keir proceeded to call him and tell him he was a “… idiot” and to “get in a cab, now” and got a round of drinks in for the lot of us.

Finally, Laurence turned up and we could get on with the interview. We all piled in on two small(ish) sofas and started asking some of the most awkward questions of all time, such as “Which Disney princess would you be?”, credits for that go to Olivia’s nan (which was met with a fair amount of laughter when she had told us earlier), and the guys gave better answers than we could ever have wished for. After we were done with that (and of course the brief pit stop), we posed for various photos for Ben, then shameless selfies were had (see below) and we were free to chat.

As it happens, I ended up speaking mainly to Laurence and Shane (singer/guitarist and lead) and when the former of the pair left a couple of hours later, I had a really inspiring talk with Shane about everything possible really: guitar kit, studio kit, musical influences, careers, school, touring, the music scene in general, “New Grave” scene (which none of the band understand really) and most importantly, confidence. In quite a lot of ways, I see many similar attributes in us both; he is the one of the band that is least involved in the social aspect and admits he often needs coaxing in from the likes of Jake Pitts (of Black Veil Brides) when they are having conversations band to band, and he is a hugely passionate musician that works incredibly hard to achieve the sound he dreams of, despite recording a lot in a bedroom with an old condenser mic and a duvet to dampen it.

The day was one of the most important of my life so far, if for no reason other than the words given to me by Shane: “always have faith in yourself, you need to be the first to believe you can do it and even if you don’t, at least you will have known you tried”, which I really have taken to heart as my music has improved drastically in the last month, and I have had the confidence to talk about it a lot more and to start spreading my thoughts to the world via my rambling speeches like this online, and I genuinely couldn’t be more grateful.

Thanks to all involved, hope to see you all again soon and can’t wait to see the finished product in a couple of weeks!

11947848_1024334864258040_5959859776782244636_o

Leave a Reply

