“OH GOD NO, I HAVE THAT STUCK IN MY HEAD NOW”

As a metalhead and pop punk fan, I can’t say I’m a huge fan of pop songs, however when my brother has the radio on playing a bit of Bieber or whoever I just get the tune stuck in my head and I have a little crisis as I realise I’m singing a song by Justin Bieber but I have developed a solution.

Ages ago, I discovered the Punk Goes series which spans: Metal, Pop, Acoustic, 80s, 90s, Acoustic 2, Crunk, Pop 2, Classic Rock, Pop 3, X (Winter X Games 2011 songs), Pop 4, Pop 5, Christmas, 90s 2 and Pop 6, which I’m sure you’ll agree is a pretty comprehensive list. The covered artists include Britney, Bruno Mars and Coolio and they’re nearly all quite hardcore (though not quite punk in most cases…) so that’s one way of escaping the dreaded pop trash easily. My favourites are probably I Prevail’s Blank Space (Taylor Swift), Pierce The Veil’s Just The Way You Are (Bruno Mars) and Pvris’ Chandelier (Sia).

More recently though, I discovered a bloke called Leo Moracchioli who runs a Frog Leap Studio in Norway and he does some pretty nutty covers in general. Spanning 6 metal covers albums and 3 acoustics, he has at least one song released per month and he’s currently releasing about every fortnight. My personal favourites have to be Sia’s Chandelier and Demi Lovato’s Let It Go.

In addition, there are some pretty cool covers from other bands they’ve released as singles like Our Last Night, Against The Current and even All Time Low so before you go and ruin your reputation, DO YOUR RESEARCH! There’s almost certainly a cover that you can listen to that’ll be more your style and more reputable.

Leave a Reply

